Philippe Oubelhaj
Philippe Oubelhaj
Belgium
Local time: 19:40
French to Dutch
+ ...
Sep 13, 2010

Hi,
I'm a freelance translator, and I have been contacted by a subtitling company because they are looking for Dutch translators.
I have always been interested in subtitling as well, but I don't know if I should pursue this...
Here are some fragments from the e-mail:

Their rates: "Translations at USD 2.25 per minute runtime and proofs at USD 0.400 per minute runtime."
I don't know what the rates are in that industry? Is this too low, or reasonable?
<
... See more
Hi,
I'm a freelance translator, and I have been contacted by a subtitling company because they are looking for Dutch translators.
I have always been interested in subtitling as well, but I don't know if I should pursue this...
Here are some fragments from the e-mail:

Their rates: "Translations at USD 2.25 per minute runtime and proofs at USD 0.400 per minute runtime."
I don't know what the rates are in that industry? Is this too low, or reasonable?

And they want me to take a translation test. However, the test would take 4 hours. Is that normal for subtitling texts?

"Since we’re based in India we request you to send us an email between your 8:00 hours and 13:00 hours, saying you’re ready to receive the test and complete it within four hours and we’ll send it immediately. Please note that for your application to be considered, you must finish the test within four continuous hours."

It seems to be a good company, also according to Proz and the Blue Board...

Also another question I have: I suppose you need special software (that you have to buy) to work for such companies?

Thank you for your help and information!

Best regards,

Philippe
Collapse

sokolniki
sokolniki  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:40
English to Russian
+ ...
Wa-a-ay too low Sep 13, 2010