Translation of litterature/books
Téma indítója: Mette Kragholm (X)
Mette Kragholm (X)
Mette Kragholm (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 01:14
spanyol - dán
+ ...
Aug 25, 2005

I am a professional translator of business texts and the likes - i.e. the usual user Manuals, contracts, reports, etc.

However, I have started a little private project which is to translate a children's book that I read and enjoyed many times as a child.

I want to promote the translation of the book to publishers in my country, by sending them the first three chapters translated, and telling them about the wonders of the book.

I am not sure, though, how to
... See more
I am a professional translator of business texts and the likes - i.e. the usual user Manuals, contracts, reports, etc.

However, I have started a little private project which is to translate a children's book that I read and enjoyed many times as a child.

I want to promote the translation of the book to publishers in my country, by sending them the first three chapters translated, and telling them about the wonders of the book.

I am not sure, though, how to handle the financial aspects. What is the usual rate when translating a book? Do you ususally get paid by source word, as in business translations, or is there a standard arrangement of a fee per sold book or something like that?

I hope that someone can tell me a little about their experiences, so I don't seem like a complete novice in promoting the book...
Collapse

Egmont
Egmont
Spanyolország
afrikaans - spanyol
+ ...
payment Aug 25, 2005

kragholm wrote:

I am not sure, though, how to handle the financial aspects. What is the usual rate when translating a book? Do you ususally get paid by source word, as in business translations, or is there a standard arrangement of a fee per sold book or something like that?

I hope that someone can tell me a little about their experiences, so I don't seem like a complete novice in promoting the book...