Can you work on an sdlxliff and provide a clean file?
投稿者: Josh Karson
Josh Karson
Josh Karson
フランス
フランス語 から 英語
Jan 8, 2016

Hi,

I'm a new Wordfast Pro user. My client gives me the following files:

- sdlxliff file
- source file (original powerpoint, excel or word to be translated)
- TM in tmx format

When I'm finished with the translation, my client wants me to give them:
- the bilingual sdlxliff file
- the clean file (translated powerpoint, excel or word)
- the TM in tmx format

If I translate using the sdlxliff file, as my client request
... See more
Hi,

I'm a new Wordfast Pro user. My client gives me the following files:

- sdlxliff file
- source file (original powerpoint, excel or word to be translated)
- TM in tmx format

When I'm finished with the translation, my client wants me to give them:
- the bilingual sdlxliff file
- the clean file (translated powerpoint, excel or word)
- the TM in tmx format

If I translate using the sdlxliff file, as my client requests, and then select "Save Translated File" (File menu), I am saving the sdlxliff as a bilingual file. But I do not know how to create the translated source file, i.e. a clean word, ppt or excel.

[Note: If I translate using the source file, then "Save Translated File" creates a clean source file. I'd like to do the same thing with an sdlxliff]

Thanks for any help.
Collapse

Dominique Pivard
Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:56
フィンランド語 から フランス語
Not possible Jan 8, 2016

No, you can’t generate the translated PowerPoint from the translated SDLXLIFF without Studio. If you don’t have a copy of Studio, that will be a job for your client.

What you can do, of course, if open the original PowerPoint directly in Wordfast Pro, translate it (should be fast, since you have already done the translation on the SDLXLIFF), after which you will be able to use Save translated file in Wordfast Pro and obtain the translated PowerPoint.

[Edited at 2016-01-
... See more