Thread poster: david angel (X)
david angel (X)
david angel (X)
Local time: 08:49
French to English
+ ...
Jun 1, 2006

I am using Trados 7.
I'm self-taught, which is as much as to say I know very little. I started with one big French-English memory, but am now realising that I need to take active steps to control a memory that's getting out of control. I use project and filter settings, in a very modest way, using abbreviations like LEG for legal or FIN for finance, and I've learned (at last) how to delete or amend translation segments using the maintenance commands, but it's all pretty clumsy as well as t
... See more
I am using Trados 7.
I'm self-taught, which is as much as to say I know very little. I started with one big French-English memory, but am now realising that I need to take active steps to control a memory that's getting out of control. I use project and filter settings, in a very modest way, using abbreviations like LEG for legal or FIN for finance, and I've learned (at last) how to delete or amend translation segments using the maintenance commands, but it's all pretty clumsy as well as time consuming. Do any of you skilled professionals out there have any tips? Do you have loads of TM's or just one big one? What fields do you use? What information do you put in with each job? Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Best wishes, David Angel.
Collapse

Giles Watson
Giles Watson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 09:49
Italian to English
In memoriam
An idea or two Jun 1, 2006

Hi David,

Most of my jobs fall into one of three or four broad sectors so I keep a separate TM for each customer and at the end of each job, export the updated TM to text and then import it into a larger TM for the appropriate sector. The XYZ winery TM would be incorporated into my Wine TM (currently containing about 120,000 segments), for example.