Spain
Local time: 05:52
Member (2006)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jul 18, 2006

Hi everybody!

Congratulations for your great work!

In this post, I wanted to make some statements and present several questions I've always had. Let me expose firstly my background data.

My name is Alvaro Morales, and I've been working as a sporadic translator since 1999 (proz platinum since current month), but it has been this last year when I wanted to take de big step and dedicate to translation business on a "full time" basis. The answer of my old cust
... See more
Hi everybody!

Congratulations for your great work!

In this post, I wanted to make some statements and present several questions I've always had. Let me expose firstly my background data.

My name is Alvaro Morales, and I've been working as a sporadic translator since 1999 (proz platinum since current month), but it has been this last year when I wanted to take de big step and dedicate to translation business on a "full time" basis. The answer of my old customers and some new ones gathered through this year has been impressive. I haven't had any blank time since Aug 2005 (nor even on weekends).

I decided two months ago to take a little holidays of 6 days on late July, going out for a while to take a deserved rest.

The thing is, since mid July the jobs level have fallen drastically. I work with about 10 agencies in a continuous basis (more sporadic customers as well), and the relationship with them haven't changed (we still keep a great business relationship). I still have job to do everyday, but just for one or two hours/day.

You know, after a non-stop working year, this situation is extremely strange for me.

I want to think that in these dates the market slow down its rythm due to holidays and low activities, but I wanted to contrast it with you, who will probably have been working in this in industry more time than me, and I'm sure you're all great translators.